Europe

More than two dozen affiliates and councils serve the needs of reading professionals in Europe. IRA activities in the region are coordinated by the International Development in Europe Committee. For detailed information about each affiliate, please visit the IDEC website at: http://www.literacyeurope.org/idec-the-committee/.

Find out more directly from the organizations listed below, or contact IRA headquarters.

National Affiliates

Austria
Austrian Literacy Association (ALA)
Oesterreichische Gesellschaft zur Erforschung und Foerderung des Lesens und Schreibens
Affiliate No. A6A00
Founding Year: 1974
Year Chartered: 1975
Margit Böck, President
margit.boeck@lesenundschreiben.at
www.lesenundschreiben.at

Belgium (French speaking)
Belgian Francophone Reading Association (BELFRA)
Association Belge Pour la Lecture- Section francophone (ABLF)
Affiliate No. B2A00
Founding Year: 1974
Year Chartered: 1975
Anne Godenir, President
ablf@skynet.be
www.ablf.be

Belgium (Flemish speaking)
Flanders Reading Association (FLARA)
Affiliate No. B1A00
Year Chartered: 1983
Caroline Andries, President
candries@vub.ac.be

Bulgaria
Bulgarian Reading Association (BulRA)
Affiliate No. B6A00
Year Chartered: 2003
Lydia Dachkova, President
ldachkova@osf.bg
www.bulra.org

Croatia
Croatian Reading Association
Affiliate No. C8A00
Year Chartered: 1997
Vlasta Stubicar, President
vlasta.stubicar@os.t-com.hr
www.hcd.hr

Czech Republic
Czech Reading Association (CzechRA)
Společnost pro podporu a rozvíjení čtenářství
Affiliate No. C9A00
Year Chartered: 2003
Radka Wildová, President
Marie Ernestová, Contact Person
m.ernestova@email.cz
www.czechra.czweb.org

Denmark
Læsepædagogen Danish Council of International Reading Association
Landsforeningen af Læsepædagoger
Affiliate No. D5A00
Year Chartered: 1950
Gert Niemann, President
G9emann@hotmail.com

Karen Maass, Vice-president/International Contact
karen.maass@skolekom.dk or karen.maass@buf.kk.dk
www.laesepaed.dk

Estonia
Estonian Reading Association (EstRA)
Eesti Lugemisühing
Affiliate No. E5A00
Founding Year: 1992
Year Chartered: 1993
Maili Vesiko-Liinev, President
vesikoliinev@gmail.com
Kadi Lukanenok, Contact Person
kadi.lukanenok@tlu.ee
www.lugemisyhing.ee

Finland
Finnish Reading Association (FinRA)
Affiliate No. F3A00
Year Chartered: 1971
Virpi Ravolainen, President
vravolainen@gmail.com
Ann-Sofie Selin, International Secretary
finrainfo@gmail.com
http://finnishreadingassociation.blogspot.fi

France
Association Française Pour La Lecture (AFL)
Affiliate No. F6A00
Year Chartered: 1967
Michel Piriou, President
michel.piriou56@orange.fr
www.lecture.org

Germany
German Society for Reading and Writing
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Lesen und Schreiben (DGLS)
Affiliate No. G5A00
Founding Year: 1968
Year Chartered: 1968
Prof. Dr. Alfons Welling, President
wellinga@arcor.de
www.dgls.de

Greece
Hellenic Association for Language and Literacy (HALL)
Affiliate No. G7A00
Year Chartered: 1995
Eufimia Tafa, President
etafa@edc.uoc.gr

Hungary
Hungarian Reading Association (HunRA)
Affiliate No. H8A00
Year Chartered: 1992
Janos Gyori, President
janosgyori.hunra@gmail.com
www.hunra.hu

Iceland
Icelandic Reading Association
Affiliate No. I1A00
Year Chartered: 1993
Erna Arnodottir, President
erna.arnadottir@mrn.stjr.is
www.menntamalaraduneyti.is

Ireland
Reading Association of Ireland (RAI)
Affiliate No. I5A00
Year Chartered: 1978
Karen Willoughby, President
willoukm@tcd.ie
www.reading.ie

Israel
Israel Reading Association
Affiliate No. I6A00
Year Chartered: 1968
Shlomo Alon, President
shlomal@education.gov.il

Latvia
Latvian Reading Association
Affiliate No. L3A00
Year Chartered: 1993/2004 renewed
Sandra Kalnina, President
sandra.kalnina@lu.lv
www.iac.edu.lv

Lithuania
Lithuanian Association for Reading and Cultural Literacy
Year Chartered: 2012
Rūta Elijošaitytė, Chairperson
Rutaeli@gmail.com

Luxemburg
Luxemburg Reading Association
Charles Berg, President
charles.berg@uni.lu

 

Macedonia (FYROM)
Reading Association of Macedonia (MaRA)
Affiliate No. M1A00
Year Chartered: 2005
Anica Petkoska, President
anicapetkoska@gmail.com
http://nasiotklas.blogspot.com
www.nasiotklas.ning.com

The Netherlands
Reading Association in the Netherlands (RAIN)
Affiliate No. N1A00
Year Chartered: 1990
Jeroen Clemens, President
jeroencl@gmail.com
Website under development. Please visit the IDEC Dutch Association page at http://www.literacyeurope.org/associations/associations-k-z/the-netherlands/

Norway
Norwegian Reading Association (NoRA)
Norsk forening for leseopplæring
Affiliate No. N6A00
Founding Year: 1986
Year Chartered: 1992
Målfrid Skoglund, President
malfrid.skoglund@statped.no
www.nora-les.no

Portugal
Portuguese Association for Literacy
Affiliate No. P9A00
Year Chartered: 1997
Maria de Lourdes Dionisio, President
mldionisio@ie.uminho.pt
www.littera-apl.org

Romania
Romanian Association for Reading and Writing for Critical Thinking (RO RWCT Association)
Asociaţia Lectura şi Scrierea pentru Dezvoltarea Gândirii Critice România
Affiliate No. R5A02
Founding Year: 2002
Year Chartered: 2008
Ariana-Stanca Văcăreţu, President
ariana.vacaretu@vimore.com
www.alsdgc.ro

Russia
Reading Association of Russia (RAR)
Year Chartered: 2010
Natalia N. Smetannikova, President
nataly.smetannikova@yandex.ru

Slovenia
Slovenian Reading Association
Bralno društvo Slovenije
Affiliate No. S2A50
Founding Year: 1995
Year Chartered: 1997
Zoltan Jan, President
zoltan.jan@siol.net

Veronika Rot Gabrovec, IDEC Representative
veronika.rot-gabrovec@guest.arnes.si
www.zrss.si

Spain
Spanish Association for Reading and Writing
Affiliate No. S4A00
Year Chartered: 2005
Estela D’Angelo Menéndez, President
edangelo@edu.ucm.es
aele@asociacionaele.org
www.asociacionaele.org
www.asociacionaele.org/red-cple (Readers Cities and Towns Network-Spain)
www.dioperico.com (for children)
www.clubescrituratelemaco.org (Latinoamerican Projects “Write as readers”)

Sweden
Swedish Council of the International Reading Association
Affiliate No. S6A00
Year Chartered: 1965
Ulla-Britt Persson, President
ulla-britt.persson@liu.se
www.scira.nu

Switzerland
Swiss Reading Forum
Affiliate No. S8A00
Year Chartered: 1992
Peter Gyr, President
peter.gyr@phz.ch
www.leseforum.ch

United Kingdom
United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA)
Affiliate No. U3A00
Year Chartered: 1967
Alayne Öztürk, President
A.Ozturk@londonmet.ac.uk

Henrietta Dombey, IDEC Representative
h.dombey@brighton.ac.uk
www.ukla.org

Join IRA Today!
Join IRA Today!

Looking for a meeting or event in your area?

The International Reading Association now uses our community calendar to showcase IRA conferences, state and international conferences, and more. You do not need to log in to view the calendar. Please click here to view the upcoming events.

To add an event to the calendar, please send an email with your event details and contact information to readingtoday@reading.org.

IRA Council and Affiliate Directory

This council and affiliate directory is for official IRA use only. Please refrain from contacting council or affiliate presidents for solicitation and sales purposes. Individual IRA members and potential members may initiate contact with the council or affiliate president for information and networking purposes. Use of this listing for any other purpose, including, but not limited to, reproducing and storing in a retrieval system by any means electronic or mechanical, photocopying or using the names, addresses, and phone numbers for any private, commercial, or political mailing, is strictly prohibited.

Home| About IRA| Contact Us| Help| Privacy & Security| Terms of Use

© 1996–2014 International Reading Association. All rights reserved.